Has anybody regret working for themselves, owning their own business rather than working for someone else?

Standard

My answer to Has anybody regret working for themselves, owning their own business rather than working for someone e…

Answer by Ken Larson:

Yes.

We all must deal with our personal value systems in business ownership.

I spent 36 years in the Military Industrial Complex and leaned a great deal from the large and small companies for whom I worked. This permitted me to be quite successful in my own consulting firm for 10 years at the end of my career. But I found that I did not have the gut desire to become rich and I always paid everyone else before I paid myself – not necessarily a recipe for success.

In short, my value system was not suited for small business ownership.

The most fulfillment in I have had in my professional career has been in forming my own non-profit organization in retirement to assist veterans and small businesses free of charge and supporting two other organizations in doing so.

Our existence and our mental universe are driven by factors that we as individuals inherit through the gene pool, as enhanced by our experiences in life.

In short we are most at peace when we are in sync with the personal value system that has evolved as a result of the above factors and when we are permitted to pursue our values in our personal and professional endeavors.

If we cannot achieve that harmony we will seek change.

Human intellect is an ever restless endeavor and we struggle to evolve in other aspects fast enough to adapt to our technology. The human physiology has not evolved to match the pace at which we live today. We are prone to overweight, mental disorders, and many other weaknesses as a result.

We are sensitive and vulnerable creatures, designed in a complex and vastly varying ways. The pace of life these days requires cultivation of expectation management and everyone must evolve their own unique form of that art.

Has anybody regret working for themselves, owning their own business rather than working for someone else?

About rosecoveredglasses

2 Tours in US Army Vietnam. Retired from 36 Years in the Defense Industrial Complex after working on 25 major weapons systems, many of which are in use today in the Middle East. Volunteer MicroMentor. I specialize in Small, Veteran-owned, Minority-Owned and Woman-Owned Businesses beginning work for the Federal Government. MicroMentor is a non-profit organization offering free assistance to small business in business planning, operations, marketing and other aspects of starting and successfully operating a small enterprise. You can set up a case with me at MicroMentor by going to: http://www.micromentor.org/ key words: "Federal Government Contracting"

Leave a Reply

