Why do Americans view getting old as a sin?

Standard

My answer to Why do Americans view getting old as a sin?

Answer by Ken Larson:

Most in my age group do not. I am 71.

I took a fall on the ice 2 winters ago in front of the Middle School and 2 dozen 5th graders. The fall didn't hurt nearly as much as the laughter and the subsequent whispers this year, "There goes that old guy again, do you think he might fall?"

I took a nap out in the wildlife refuge last Sunday in a beautiful stand of aromatic pines. When I awoke I found two huge turkey buzzards staring at me intently from their perch nearby. I had known I was getting older but had not realized I had reached the carrion stage.

I reported a pollution spill in the Vermilion River recently and the Minneapolis paper picked up the story. A reader commented on the web site that the Minnesota pollution control program had now been relegated to an "Old Guy" in the vets home

I feel fine about getting old. It's how I am perceived by others that bothers me.

COMMENTARY ON GETTING OLD

Why do Americans view getting old as a sin?

About rosecoveredglasses

2 Tours in US Army Vietnam. Retired from 36 Years in the Defense Industrial Complex after working on 25 major weapons systems, many of which are in use today in the Middle East. Volunteer MicroMentor. I specialize in Small, Veteran-owned, Minority-Owned and Woman-Owned Businesses beginning work for the Federal Government. MicroMentor is a non-profit organization offering free assistance to small business in business planning, operations, marketing and other aspects of starting and successfully operating a small enterprise. You can set up a case with me at MicroMentor by going to: http://www.micromentor.org/ key words: "Federal Government Contracting"

Leave a Reply

