What is the most surprising thing you came across when you first started blogging?

Standard

My answer to What is the most surprising thing you came across when you first started blogging?

Answer by Ken Larson:

The most useful feature of blogging to me is a time saver. I can write an article once and send 50 clients to it in the course of my advisory work. That saves me enormous amounts of time.

I have been blogging for 10 years. I have found through hard experience that it is best to divide opinions from professional assistance offerings.

I have Google Adsense and site metering on both the sites I maintain.

The Blog containing professional assistance to small business earns orders of magnitude more traffic than the opinion blog and proportionately more earnings. People want help more than they want opinions. See below graphic for traffic comparisons on the last 7 years. Neither site has made me rich and I did not set them up for that purpose.

It took the better part of a year to build up traffic. I view blogging as an auxiliary enhancement to marketing my non-profit foundation as well as the foundations I support and staying in touch with Veteran Issues.

I spend roughly 3 hours a day blogging and site maintenance, maintaining books and reference materials in BOX at the sites free to the public. The majority of my time is devoted to counseling specific small business clients and blogging is vital to that mission.

What is the most surprising thing you came across when you first started blogging?

About rosecoveredglasses

2 Tours in US Army Vietnam. Retired from 36 Years in the Defense Industrial Complex after working on 25 major weapons systems, many of which are in use today in the Middle East. Volunteer MicroMentor. I specialize in Small, Veteran-owned, Minority-Owned and Woman-Owned Businesses beginning work for the Federal Government. MicroMentor is a non-profit organization offering free assistance to small business in business planning, operations, marketing and other aspects of starting and successfully operating a small enterprise. You can set up a case with me at MicroMentor by going to: http://www.micromentor.org/ key words: "Federal Government Contracting"

Leave a Reply

